Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic language

dominican republic flag

The Dominican Republic is a country belonging to the Caribbean, in America, whose capital is Santo Domingo. It has a population of about 11 million inhabitants (86th) and an area of ​​48,671 km 2 (128th). Its human development index is high (94º) and its official currency is the Dominican peso. And what language is spoken in the Dominican Republic?

What language do they speak in the Dominican Republic?

The Dominican Republic has one official language, Spanish.

Apart from Spanish, there are 159,000 Haitian Creole speakers in the country, due to the fact that both countries are located on the same island (Hispaniola). This makes it the largest minority language. The next most widely spoken immigrant languages ​​are Chinese (25,000 speakers), Southwestern Caribbean Creole English (22,000), Northern Levantine Arabic (3,000), Japanese (1,500), and Catalan.

map the spanish dominican republic haiti

In the education system, English and French are compulsory subjects, both in private and public schools (although such teaching is poor). Some private schools also offer other languages, notably Italian, Japanese, and Mandarin Chinese.

The Spanish language

Dominican Spanish is spoken by practically the entire population. It has its roots in the dialects of the Canary Islands and Andalusia. In addition, it has influences from Taíno languages ​​(indigenous peoples), Africans (due to slavery) and English (due to cultural pressure from the United States). One of the particularities of Dominican Spanish is that it still retains hundreds of archaisms.

Share which languages ​​are spoken in the Dominican Republic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button