Guyanese language

guyana flag

The Cooperative Republic of Guyana is a country that belongs to South America, whose capital is Georgetown. It has about 800,000 inhabitants (165º) and an area of ​​214,970 km 2 (83º). Its human development index is medium (125º) and its official currency is the Guyanese dollar. And what language is spoken in Guyana?

What language do they speak in Guyana?

Guyana has one official language, English.

But despite this, the language of everyday use in the country is Guyanese Creole. In addition, several minority languages ​​are spoken in Guyana, including several Carib and Arawak languages: Wapishana (6,000 speakers), Patamona (4,700), Akawayo (4,500), Arawak-Lokono (1,500), Macushí (930), Kariña (480), pemon (480), wai-wai (200). Also, there are 1,500 Chinese speakers.

guyana map languages ​​indigenous languages

Due to its proximity to Brazil, Portuguese is used more and more on the southern border of the country. In education, Spanish and French are widely taught as foreign languages ​​in most secondary schools.

The English language

English (English ) is spoken by 91% of the population, as it is the medium of instruction in schools. However, its use is minority and is reserved for official spheres, such as government, the media, the educational system and services. Guyana is the only country in South America with English as its official language.

Guyanese Creole language

Guyanese Creole (Creolese) is the language (based on English) that arose from the mixing of settlers with African and Indian slaves. It contains various loanwords from Dutch, Arawakan languages, and native Indian languages. Its grammar is not standardized by any organization. It is the language used in personal relationships or at home. In total, 87% of the population speak Guyanese Creole.

Share which languages ​​are spoken in Guyana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button